Small Town; Big Celebration

Independence Day is my favorite holiday, by far. I’d easily sacrifice pastel eggs and pumpkins for pride and patriotism. It could be because I was born a few months after the Bicentennial. Or because my father, an Army veteran, is the most patriotic person I know (I swear he bleeds red, white, and blue). But I think it has even more to do with the fact that my hometown has had the best 4th of July celebrations as far back as I can remember…and then some.

My own timeline can be reconstructed based on 4th of July festivities in Pleasant Mount. In my youth, I marched in the parade as a Rebel with the Fife & Drum Corps; pushed my baby sister in a stroller as a pre-teen; twirled a baton during my short stint as a majorette while a teenager; drove numerous floats over the years (the timeline is a little fuzzy on this…some floats were probably driven before I had a license), and more recently I’ve spent time out on the North Road checking in the overwhelming number of tractors that show up to parade through town every year.

These celebrations extend well past my own memories. After all, the David Spencer Steam Tractor made its maiden voyage on July 4, 1889 in the Pleasant Mount Parade.

If you’ve been to Pleasant Mount on the 4th of July, you know what I’m talking about. If you haven’t, you should see what it’s all about. There’s a parade, a patriotic program in Meredith Park, a chicken barbecue, and plenty of other activities in the center of town. The Historical Society museum is open for tours free of charge, we have collectibles and gifts for sale, and antiques for sale on the lawn. I also hear that there will be fireworks this year.

As a long-time Wayne County public official once said, “Pleasant Mount is the place to be on the 4th of July.” So, mark your calendar and join us (this year’s celebration will be held on Saturday, July 3).

Lisa Hall

Pleasant Mount, Rebels Fife and Drum Corps

Do you have any Pleasant Mount 4th of July memories? Add a Comment and share them!

Explore posts in the same categories: Guest Blogs

Leave a Reply

